A Temporary Introduction to Cricket

Sharing is caring!

Cricket is a modern day sport played between two teams. Every group has eleven players. The game is played on an oval or spherical formed ground which has a rectangular 22 yard long pitch at the center. One group bats to score as many runs as possible. The other workforce stops the run stream by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs to opposite finish of pitch and touches the crease there without being dismissed.

There are three formats of the game:

a) Test Cricket

b) One Day Cricket

c) Twenty-Twenty

Test Cricket

The oldest form of cricket is Test Cricket. The game of cricket actually evolved with Test Cricket. Records show that first ever test match was performed between Australia and England in the yr 1876-77. The game of cricket has come a long way since then. The principles have modified a lot. A test match is played over a period of five days with every crew batting and bowling twice. Maximum over that may be bowled in a day is ninety while there is no limit on the number of over a single bowler can bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been performed until date.

There are nine test taking part in nations which are full members of International Cricket Council – The Worldwide Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

One Day Worldwide

Limited over cricket was launched in England within the 12 months 1963. Internationally, the first limited over game was performed within the year 1971. One game is played in one day. A bowler can bowl a maximum of 10 over’s in a game. In 1975, a new tournament known as World cup got here into existence. All Worldwide Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a collection of matches towards every other. The winners of tournament were termed as World Champions.

World cup is performed after each 4 years. ICC has conducted 10 world cups until date. Australia grew to become champions 4 times, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The last world cup was held in the yr 2011 and was won by India.


The latest evolution in the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Here, each crew performs 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a most of 4 overs. First worldwide Twenty-twenty game was played in the yr 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is performed every two years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 international teams have performed the game until date.

Even after one hundred years of its existence, the popularity of game is still increasing. More and more persons are taking up this sport. It is only second to Football by way of followers around the globe and is ready to submit a challenge for the top slot very soon.

If you loved this article therefore you would like to obtain more info relating to i implore you to visit the webpage.